Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jordan_johnson90

Goden Pothos burn spots?

Jordan Johnson
5 years ago
last modified: 5 years ago

Hi! I am a college student that bought my golden pothos in August of last year when I was in school in Massachusetts. I brought my plant home to Maryland this summer and put it on a kitchen table with adequate sunlight but not direct sunlight. HOWEVER, my pothos leaves have been yellowing with large brown/burn spots in the middle!!

PLEASE help me figure out the problem before I go back to school!!!! I don't know why this is happening and I am watering it every 1-2 weeks. I also recently repotted it, but the leaves were having this issue before the repotting.

Comments (9)

• IdaClaire
    5 years ago

Agree -- inadequate soil/drainage is the likely culprit, if it isn't overwatering. Sometimes these plants respond this way to moving them and a change in lighting. You might Google your plant's "symptoms" for how to best treat.

Jordan Johnson thanked IdaClaire
  • Jordan Johnson
    Original Author
    5 years ago

hi! @idaclaire and @tropicbreezent the plant was potted into a ceramic pot, with normal potting soil? I'm not sure what soil I used I just used the soil that was in my house for potted plants. I moved the plant away from the direct sunlight and cut off the bad spots and it seemed to doit, but they are reappearing in Massachusetts. I think it might be nutrient burn from non filtered water...?

• tropicbreezent
    5 years ago

Does the pot have good drainage holes? Does the soil drain relatively fast? Or does the soil stay very wet?

• Jordan Johnson
    Original Author
    5 years ago

the pot has one drainage hole, the soil stays wet but not super wet, and i don't water too often

• Jordan Johnson
    Original Author
    5 years ago

I water maybe about 2-4oz every 2-3 weeks

• tropicbreezent
    5 years ago