Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
green_passion

Overwinter questions

green_passion
5 years ago
last modified: 5 years ago

I did overwinter couple of times, this season I did a lot most of the plants they are overwinter now.

Many forum members here said cut both branches and roots. I did it without understand thoroughly and it worked very well.

I have few simple questions.

1. Why we cut roots? Is it because of many death roots or old roots?

2. How to choose a right size pot? How much space should have between the roots and the container walls?

Here many of our forum members may know very well so please give me some answers or links.

I am not good at put some nice words at the end of the post so I stop here. :)

Comments (31)

• green_passion
    Original Author
    5 years ago

From this forum post I found a post, it is an old post of 26th April 2006 from organic_nut

" the problem with keeping old plants is that the roots get old and lose their health. then the plant goes down hill. the old plant usually bring in all kinds of bugs that go wild indoors etc. all this can be avoided with some care."

• green_passion
    Original Author
    5 years ago

Some overwinter plants got new buds.

5 years old Ghost

Re-potted on the same day now it has buds.

After trimming the death stems the small one is Brown Ghost I did not over winter on the same day and I expecting it will get new buds soon. My garden scissor is not cut smoothly so I used knife.

Snow White got buds too

Snow White again, I have two plants they got buds more faster than the Ghost.

• green_passion
    Original Author
    5 years ago

When I added new post and pictures to my own post, it added as new comment but it could not be comment all the times sometimes they could be my updates. However I enjoy the forum, to have a space to ask or express something for my plants.

• green_passion
    Original Author
    5 years ago