Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
flowerful

What Cabinet Paint to Use--No BM Advance!

flowerful
5 years ago

I'm painting my kitchen cabinets & will be using shellac-based primer on raw MDF cabinet doors: The vinyl delaminated & came off. BM Advance isn't recommended for this type of primer, plus I've read that while the advance works ok when brushed, it bubbles when rolled or if the coat is too thick. Honestly, I'm an amateur and very stressed atm, the last thing I need is being set up for failure by my paint.
So...Will BM Regal stand up on cabinets? Will it work with shellac primer? Is there another *readily available* brand that has as nice a finish as the Regal? I'm in the rurals, so can only get BM, Pittsburgh & Home Depot brands...Our house has to be on the market ASAP, so panic is setting in. Any help is appreciated!

Comments (24)

• Holly Stockley
    5 years ago

You could give C2 Trim and cabinet a try. Ask them, first, if it can go over your primer. You can buy online and have it shipped..

https://c2paint.com/collections/c2-cabinet-trim

• flowerful
    Original Author
    5 years ago

This probably isn't the best time to be ordering paint off the internet, ya know? Maybe when this is over I'll try C2, tho...

• Hillside House
    5 years ago

For the record, when I rolled Advance for my laundry room doors, it didn't bubble at all. The finish wasn't flawless like when I sprayed, but I don't think anything rolled ever is.

• flowerful
    Original Author
    5 years ago

I used it once, it went on ok but never really dried--stayed tacky. I had to replace the cab doors I used it on. No idea why, followed the instructions to the letter.

Plus, I can"t use the Advance primer, must be shellac because of the MDF. And BM dosen't recommend Advance on MDF.

• w0lley32
    5 years ago