Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
megan_c32

Well look what we found...

Megan
4 years ago

After removing some cabinetry in our kitchen (behind the door, always in the way and utterly useless). We discovered the original exterior wall of the house. Now, do we keep it, or drywall over it.

The remainder of the kitchen (including right next to that portion of wall) will have white shaker cabinets, and white quartz countertops. Fairly generic.

Ideally we'd love to clean it up and stain or whitewash it, but I'm at a loss design wise. The rest of the house is very beachy feeling.

Help!

Comments (24)

• Emily H
    4 years ago

I love these kinds of discoveries.

• aeglisson
    4 years ago

I'm no expert, but I love it! Save it if you can.

• Gina S
    4 years ago

Don't dry wall over it ---noooo way!

• PRO
    Patricia Colwell Consulting
    4 years ago

Please it is real ship lap rough and not meant to be bare

• Gina S
    4 years ago

@Patricia Colwell Consulting maybe it is too late at night -- but I am not following what you mean? Do you mean that it is unfinished and needs to be painted or made smooth somehow??

@megan if you don't want it -- I'll buy it! :)

• PRO
    Diana Bier Interiors, LLC
    4 years ago

I think it's very cool looking and I would fill in the gaps somehow then sand it and seal it with a matte finish. It will be a wonderful contrasting texture in your white kitchen!

• J Williams
    4 years ago

Just looks like rough wood used for a back wall, not a finished exterior product. We had a back wall like that in one of the places we lived, they put tar paper and shingle over it.

• aeglisson
    4 years ago

I would prefer it painted.

• njmomma
    4 years ago

following

• petula67
    4 years ago
    last modified: 4 years ago

My vote: Sand, prime, and paint it the same white as your cabients.

• PRO
    Patricia Colwell Consulting
    4 years ago