Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
webuser_742610144

Roof line remodel

Colette Sullivan
4 years ago

So I have no background in architecture to say the least so forgive me if this a ridiculous question or just impossible. I was wondering if anything can be done with the roof lines. A second story was built in the back of the house so although the house looks tiny it's 3400 sq ft. We don't need more room but it would be nice to have a high ceiling in the front part of the house where it is on the dark side. And it would be nice to have the front look more substantial. Is it possible to remove the whole front part and rebuild so we can do vaulted ceilings in the front of the house. And also make the roof line more uniform or is that impossible b/c the front part of the house is not straight across. Thanks for any input.

Comments (16)

• cpartist
    4 years ago

Anything is possible. It's just a question of how much you're willing to spend.

• Colette Sullivan
    Original Author
    4 years ago

About how much a sq ft?

• PRO
    Virgil Carter Fine Art
    4 years ago

About how many square feet are involved?

Are you prepared to:

--Have a professional design an appropriate new roof;

--Obtain a building permit;

--Remove and store all furnishings and decorative items;

--Protect flooring;

--Remove all existing roofing, gutters and downspouts;

--Remove all roof and ceiling framing, sheathing and insulation;

--Remove all HVAC, electrical and signal formerly above the ceiling;

--Replace everything with new stuff;

--Cleanup;

--Install furnishings and decorative items

Oh...and not live in or use that portion of your house for 6 months (If everything goes well).

• PRO
    Mark Bischak, Architect
    4 years ago

Anything is possible and sometimes expensive; impossible things are even more expensive.

• PRO
    Virgil Carter Fine Art
    4 years ago

...And take even longer .

• suezbell
    4 years ago
    last modified: 4 years ago