Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bbstxx

Wanting to Add Spinach to Lasagna

bbstx
3 years ago

Do you add spinach to your lasagna? If you do add a layer of spinach or do you mix it with the ricotta mixture? I’ve never done it before, but I want to add spinach this time.

Comments (30)

• cloudy_christine
    3 years ago

My son-in-law makes a delicious lasagna with spinach. He layers raw baby spinach among the usual layers. It's so tender the baking cooks it.

bbstx thanked cloudy_christine
  • jb1586
    3 years ago

I have always added spinach to the sauce, rather than the ricotta.

bbstx thanked jb1586
  • Jilly
    3 years ago
    last modified: 3 years ago

I‘ve done both, but usually defrost frozen spinach and add it to the ricotta mixture. Mmm, now I’m craving that. :)

(This mixture is great for stuffed shells, too.)

bbstx thanked Jilly
  • lindac92
    3 years ago

Defrost frozen chopped spinach, put it in cheese cloth and squeeze very VERY dry. Mix with some of the ricotta, some mozzerella and some parmesan....and layer it on...yum!
    Or just add a layer of baby spinach on top of one noodle layer!

bbstx thanked lindac92
  • lisaam
    3 years ago

I like to mix spinach with white lasagna layers ( ricotta-eggs-parmesan or bechamel) and keep the tomato sauce separate. If you use frozen spinach squeeze it very dry after defrosting.

bbstx thanked lisaam
  • Tina Marie
    3 years ago

I use fresh spinach, added to the sauce.

bbstx thanked Tina Marie
  • nancyofnc
    3 years ago

For a layer of lasagne I defrost spinach and squeeze it dry, then mix with ricotta, a beaten egg, some parm, and some pepper. The egg keeps the filling stable, not wobbly.

bbstx thanked nancyofnc
  • bbstx
    Original Author
    3 years ago

Thanks all. I have 10 oz of frozen spinach, thawed. I will wring it dry - thanks for reminding me to do that. Then I’ll mix it with the ricotta layer which is 30 oz of ricotta, 16 oz shredded mozzarella, 4 oz shredded Parmesan, and 2 eggs.