Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
judijunebugarizonazn8

Sunshine Ligustrum in a Mixed Border

I would appreciate some input from any of you gardeners who have grown Sunshine Ligustrum for several years, specifically in a mixed bed with other bushes and perennials. I am planning a border along my garden fence. The pillars are spaced approximately 10 feet apart and each pillar will have a climbing rose growing up and fanning out along the fence. Between the pillars, I want a lime/golden, evergreen shrub and between the shrubs and roses and directly in front of the roses will be Blue Boa Agastache and Cats Pajamas Nepeta. This is in a full sun, northwestern facing location in S. Arizona, zone 8 to 8b, 4300 ft elevation. After quite a bit of research, I settled on Sunshine Livustrum as my lime/ golden, evergreen shrub...
However, though I'm by no means a novice in gardening, I have no personal experience with these shrubs. I posted my garden plan on the Antique Rose forum ( because of the roses I'm using in that border) and I have received some cautions about the Sunshine Ligustrum, beings it's a privet and privet is invasive. The warning was, that even though Sunshine Ligustrum is a sterile cultivar, it's still a privet(granted) and therefore will have invasive roots and will impoverish the soil for my perennials and roses. I don't want to do something I regret, but here's the thing: I already have my shrubs ordered and they arrived today. Obviously, I can return them or use them elsewhere, and use another bush that will hopefully do well and give something of the look I want. But I guess I'm not convinced they will be unsuitable until I hear some negative feedback from someone who has experience using these bushes in a mixed planting. I have read pretty much every discussion on Houzz regarding these bushes and have Googled the question in every way I can think to word it. I see lovely pictures of gardens with them mixed with perennials, but no warnings about this. Is th