Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
webuser_640108771

Need help with stairs

Nick B
last year

Looking for an advice on what to do with these stairs. The gap between the balusters is over 4 inches and the railing is not high enough. There is also a big gap underneath. Can I cheaply modify the stairs?

Comments (8)

• M Riz
    last year

Im no pro, but when safety matters, cheaply shouldnt be part of the discussion. To put new railings on the stairs wont be inexpensive, but if youre handy you could install them yourself (with help), and save some $$.

• millworkman
    last year

Not that I can think of. If you must make it to code then rip out and new is about it.

• PRO
    GN Builders L.L.C
    last year

What you have now was done using an inexpensive railing, and at that time it was OK to have balusters spaced 6" on center, today a 4" spear cannot pass between the balusters and 6" max opening at the riser.

You have a fair amount of railings there, and with the carpet there it's not going to be cheap but at the same time, it will not break your bank, not to mention if you have smaller kids safety is the main concern.

There are many railing styles out there made of different materials, shop around and go with the best option that fits your budget and make sure it will be done to meet code compliance.

Good luck.

• PRO
    GN Builders L.L.C
    last year

I don't think stairs are the issue, they look code compliant, the only thing is the railing needs to be done to meet the current code. That said, this needs to be done if safety issues are a concern and if you're looking to change the look and style, other than that this is an original railing and doesn't need to be replaced.

I wouldn't go as far as "tens of thousands of dollars" but you looking at approx. 4k give or take for a nice oak railing.

• palimpsest
    last year
    last modified: last year