Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ec12345678901

Need help with post James Hardie Trim installation: looks kinda ugly

H
3 months ago

Just had James Hardie smooth ColorPlus siding installed. Overall happy with it, but the Hardie Trim looks ugly, unless I'm missing something. Looking for input from others that actually have the Hardie Trim professionally installed.

Hardie Trim Corner: Looks dented, visible nail locations, rough edge:

Similarly, the way the trim is around the window looks pretty rough (dents, rough edge, patched areas):

The joins between the trim looks like it's just caulked. This looks ugly.

Is this what I should be expecting with James Hardie, or is something wrong with my installation?

Comments (11)

• Molly D. Zone4B
    3 months ago

When we built, i think our installers had to be trained and approved by Hardie. I’m not a professional, but mine does not have those faults.

H thanked Molly D. Zone4B
  • H
    Original Author
    3 months ago

Thanks Molly -- I tried to look online for closeups of the Hardie Trim on the outer corners and windows, but honestly I couldn't find any. By chance do you have any actual photos of how your trim looks?

I kinda regret going smooth now, since it makes everything more noticable. No one warned me it would turn out this way.

• H
    Original Author
    3 months ago

One other thing -- Does your outside corners form a black line where they connect -- mine looks awful somehow. Not sure if it's the white color, but it just looks unrefined.

• Molly D. Zone4B
    3 months ago

I can‘t find at the moment and it’s freezing outside to try and take pictures. I’m sure a pro will chime in whether your results are within an acceptable range. Do you know if they were Hardie approved installers? I would consider reaching out directly to Hardie rep and asking them.

• H
    Original Author
    3 months ago

Ah no worries, yeah please stay warm. Thanks for your input.