Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
drdaily

Is this tape job a problem?

Mike Daily
3 months ago
last modified: 3 months ago

Hi all - I'm in the process of finishing a room in my basement, and I'm a complete newbie. I hung all the drywall for the room I'm finishing, which came out pretty good. I am now working on the drywall taping/mudding. I have never done this before, so I'm just learning this as I go. After doing the first layer where I taped over the tapered joints, I initially thought it came out pretty good - however a couple days later I noticed I somehow applied the tape "off-center" from the seams in several spots.

See the pictures below. If you look closely you can see the seam under the tape as the "darker" horizontal line due to where the tape contours into the seam slightly. You can see I put the tape kind of crooked/slanted, so as the tape runs to the left you can see the seam gets closer and closer to the top edge of the tape. The second picture is where it's the worst, where the seam is very close to the edge of the tape.

The third picture shows what most of the wall looks like - not as bad as the spot above, but still a bit off-center.
So my question is: is this ok? Or do I need to fix/redo this before moving on to the next layer of mud? If so, how would I go about fixing this?

Comments (7)

• HU-867564120
    3 months ago

Where your tape edge is close/very close to the underlying drywall joint, I would expect to see cracked joints n the future if left alone. I would wet it, let the water soak into things, and then carefully peel the tape off, clean the excess mud off and start over. I'm also not fond of paper tape (I tend to push too hard and squeeze too much joint compound out), so I use mesh tape instead.

• Mike Daily
    Original Author
    3 months ago

So would you say the first two pictures need to be re-taped, but the third (where there is more room above the join) is ok?