Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
raquel_rozas8

Kitchen Remodel Layout Help

Raquel Rozas
2 months ago

Hello everyone, while I’ve consumed a lot of the content in these discussion threads, it's my first time posting for kitchen layout advice. I have read the "how to ask for layout help" guide and have done my best to fill it out below. Thanks in advance for the advice and support. We started the journey for a kitchen remodel pre-covid and had to put it on hold so are very anxious and excited to pick it back up now.

A little background on us - my husband, I, and our two kids live in a charming home located in the Bay Area. While we love our home, our biggest wish is to freshen up the kitchen and relocate it so we can open up the back wall toward our backyard, making the entire space flow from indoor to outdoor. This would encourage all of us to spend more time in the backyard and would enable us to host more people especially when the weather warms up.

We cook on a regular basis and I also like to bake from time to time. But the real motive here is for us to just open up the entire space and make everything flow together in harmony.

I’m not an architect nor do I have access to fancy floorplan tools so I did my best to sketch everything out on graph paper. Below I have attached a high-level sketch of the current floorplan, a proposed layout for the new floorplan, and some renderings of what the new kitchen could look like with that floorplan.

Key Notes:

• Current Layout:
    • The 6” internal wall may be wall bearing (currently being evaluated by a structural engineer), but even if it is we have a plan to bring it down with a raised steel beam which will sit flush to the ceiling.
    • There are a lot of great windows in the current layout – a blessing and a curse as we figure out the best way to reorient the kitchen.