Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
suzy_lemic

Quartz Backsplash

Suzy Lemic
last month

I am wanting to do a backsplach of quartz up to base of cabinets. I am adding a hood and six burner range. One quartz person said no to behind range and below hood, overtime would fade. Would suggest quartz everywhere but there and to use a tile backsplash there. Other sales person said never heard of it. Any comments?

Comments (18)

• millworkman
    last month

Get the backguard that is made for your stove and you will be ok. Otherwise it is not fading that will happen, it is scorching or burning the quartz.

• la_la Girl
    last month

People tend to feel one way or another about quartz behind a range on here - I have no experience with it so can't comment but If you were concerned, you could do a stainless panel behind the range and quartz everywhere else

• Jennifer Hogan
    last month

The range/stovetop that you have may scorch the quartz.

The quartz that you purchase will have different heat tolerances.

My brother bought a commercial style range that required a heat shield between the wall and the range so it wouldn't ignite the studs.

In my last home I had an older gas range and in this home I have an older electric range and in both homes I had a Formica backsplash behind the range and had no issues.

Both ranges had controls on the back of the stove, so the burners and the exhaust was not as close to the wall.

I have read some articles that state that ranges that are designed for island use are the one's causing the scorching.

I have seen a lot of pictures where people installed quartz as a backsplash without the controls on the back and had no scorching and were happy, and I have seen the pictures of scorched quartz backsplashes.

I don't know if tile is really scorching (it is fired at pretty high heat and shouldn't scorch) or if it is the residue from the vents causing grease stains.