Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gmicheleking

soapstone or honed black granite?

gmicheleking
10 years ago
Debating between a honed black granite (either absolute black or jet mist) and soapstone. I love the character and veining of soapstone but love the ease of granite. I just can't pull the trigger. Any advice out there?

Comments (44)

• stonedog123
    10 years ago
    I would love to hear comments on this as well - we are really considering soapstone too.
  • feeny
    10 years ago
    last modified: 10 years ago
    I don't know about advice, but we love our soapstone. It does, however, take some work keeping it oiled or waxed in the first few years if you want a dark, even finish. Now that it is a few years old we only need to wax it once or twice a year (and waxing/oiling is, of course, entirely optional. Many people like the patina without oiling). I have no experience with honed granite so I can't compare the two.
    gmicheleking thanked feeny
  • gmicheleking
    Original Author
    10 years ago
    Thank you! How often do you oil or wax it? Is one better than the other for the soapstone?
  • PRO
    Jessy Krol Designs LLC
    10 years ago
    honed granite is definitely NOT low maintenance either!!! I had a client who kept a VERY tidy home...she insisted on honed black countertops against my recommendation... and even with TWO cleaning ladies in her home, she deeply regretted it. Every little thing leaves a mark...
    gmicheleking thanked Jessy Krol Designs LLC
  • gmicheleking
    Original Author
    10 years ago
    Great info. Thanks.
  • gmicheleking
    Original Author
    10 years ago
    Jessy Krol- do you happen to have a different recommendation? I've already talked myself out of carrera marble. Going for somewhat of a classic kitchen- White cabinets, subway tile,... Also love a bit of a vintage/industrial vibe.
  • mefor
    10 years ago
    last modified: 10 years ago