Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
megajas

Hanging basket and accent pots suggestions...

megajas
18 years ago

I have 5 hanging baskets in my gazebo that I need to fill this spring and 3 2-gal pots that sit on my deck tables. I was looking for suggestions that would take heat & humidity as well as bloom all season. Scented is prefered.

For the baskets I had been kicking around dianthus, verbena, lantana ???? HELP!

For the pots, dianthus, some type of upright grass & small sedum maybe????

I don't know. I'm not really good at keeping pots watered... any suggestions and combinations welcomed. If it helps, the rest of my back yard is in shades of pink-purple-white-blue-yellow.

Thanks!

Bonnie

Comments (7)

• putzer
    18 years ago

White Flower Farm has some interesting combinations-see the link. I am sure you will get some great suggestions here-lots of creative people on this forum!

Here is a link that might be useful: Combinations

• putzer
    18 years ago

Here's another one

Here is a link that might be useful: Proven Winners

• remy_gw
    18 years ago

I'm not a good pot tender either. I don't have good scent suggestions, but these all survived my abuse : )
    One combo that did well for me was Pink Wave Petunia(the trailing kind) with a Blue Salvia with the silver foliage. Silver foliage is a good drought tolerance indicator. And a short Yellow Snapdragon.
    Another one, I still have this one alive inside, is Lemon Grass with apricot gerber daisies, and variegated(white, green, and purple) Sweet Potato Vine.
    I've done Verbena that survives abuse. I had some potted with a bushy daisy type flowering annual that I wish I could remember the name because it survived me too!
    Maybe someone will know what the daisy type flower was.
    I hope you get some other good suggestions too.
    Remy

• tastefullyjulie
    18 years ago

Wow, that proven winners site has some beautiful combos. Had to bookmark that one!

• glassmouse
    18 years ago