Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jaybizzle_gw

I'm a newbie, and I need a little help

jaybizzle
13 years ago

Hey all, This is my first time in this forum but I love flowers just don't know much about them. Anyway I have a couple questions for ya. First of all, can you tell me what this is?

{{gwi:14047}}

Secondly; I tried growing some Salvia stems a while ago, but utterly failed. I did do research on it and I think I know where I went wrong, but do ya'll have any quick tips for me just in case? My mother let me take a few pieces from her beautiful Salvia plant that was toppling over with monstrosity, so I'm thinking of trying a few variations to see which system of propogating it works best for me.

Thanks in advance,

-Jay

Comments (8)

• oilpainter
    13 years ago

Hi jaybizzle:

Welcome to the garden web.

Your picture looks like it could be a perennial called Astilbe

Here is how you grow plants from cuttings

Taking cuttings is the same for most plants. First you must make sure everything you use is very clean. In a clean pail mix your soil with the water so you make sure the soil is damp right through. Use a soilless mix like pro mix or one that is formulated for seeds and cuttings. Just make sure it has no fertilizer in it. You want the soil wet but not too wet. Squeeze a handful and some moisture should come out but not a lot. Fill your pots and make a little hole in the center with your finger or something else that will make a small hole.

Take your cuttings: With a sharp knife or razor blade cut a 5 or 6 inch piece from the growing tip, cutting just below a leaf. All roots and branches come from a leaf joint. Remove all but the top 5 or 6 leaves. Dip about 1/2 inch of the cut end in rooting hormone. It comes in powder or gel, either is OK as long as it's for soft wood cuttings. I use Stim-root NO. 1. After it's dipped put it in the hole and cover it in, and you're done.