Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
farmerben

Amend clay or raised beds?

FarmerBen
12 years ago

Long time reader, first time poster.

I have two acres in upstate NY in the Hudson River Valley, about a half mile east of the river. I want to plant a vegetable garden about 60x30'. I have about 10 years vegetable gardening experience with a smaller garden. My plan this year was to take my time, prepare and amend the soil over the summer and plant a winter cover crop so it would be ready next season. This will be on a location which is part of my lawn today, but pesticide free (we rarely treat our lawns in this part of the country).

I planted an orchard (14 apple/cherry trees and 8 blueberry bushes) in April and dug up a great deal of heavy clay and lots of rocks. Ended up replanting the trees with about 25% of the clay topsoil and 75% compost with rock phosphate and calcium. Trees are doing well.

I know that I have a lot of clay and rocks to deal with. I'm getting ready to prepare the bed, but haven't decided if I should amend the soil or should just do raised beds and buy topsoil and compost, which would probably be a lot easier but more costly.

Questions:

- Which way would you go?

- If I decide to amend the clay, what's my process for getting this ready by next year?

- If I plant raised beds, should I till up the grass first or just put up some boards and dump topsoil and compost in there?

Comments (10)

• bejay9_10
    12 years ago

Amended clay can be great garden soil, but you mentioned being ready for next year. In that case, if it were my choice, I'd go for raised beds. Lay cardboard over the lawn to kill the grass, then put down cedar box frames with hardware cloth tacked on the bottom. Fill the boxes with good soil - compost, regular soil, some peat, etc., and you should be ready to plant right away - no waiting for the amended clay to settle in.

Just my 2 c's.

Bejay

• girlgroupgirl
    12 years ago

Bejay,