Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hoohoo_gw

Bone meal - the smell

hoohoo
14 years ago

Hi All,

Let me start off by saying that I'm fairly new to plant care of any kind. Yesterday whilst at the supermarket I came by bone meal in the gardening section and as I'd seen it mentioned quite a few times for potting mixes on this and various internet sites I purchased a box.

After doing some research on line on how to use it (and noticing vCJD mentioned somewhere along the way) I decided to repot some of my plants with a little bone meal mixed in.

The first thing that hit me when I opened the box was the smell. I know it's a bit extreme but I couldn't help thinking at the time that the smell reminded me of death. I persevered and ended up repotting several plants (most of which are quite small and young). Later on, I tried to think of a better way to describe it as my initial thought was putting me off my plants. Now I liken my plants to smelling like a petshop.

My question is, will the smell fade over time and will the bonemeal get flushed out each time I water? Further searches on the internet has spewed up a plethora of discussions on vCJD and being in the UK I'm a bit nervous with continuing use of the bonemeal. In fact, I have thrown the box away now but have stopped short of repotting again. I'm hoping the bonemeal will be used up in time and the smell will go away.

The plants are various dracaenas and various sized jades.

Comments (8)

• amccour
    14 years ago

From my understanding bonemeal is used for *outdoor* gardening, primarily.

Personally, the notion of bonemeal creeps me way the heck out and I wouldn't use it, even if it WAS really good for the plants.

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    14 years ago

Bone meal breaks down soo slowly that it's really not an effective way to deliver nutrients to plants in container culture.

Al

• hoohoo
    Original Author
    14 years ago