Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
earthwatersunwind

Books books books

earthwatersunwind
17 years ago

Having just wasted $20 on a book that I really thought would be helpful but wasn't, I'd like some tips.

I have a small garden, 30 sq ft. I'd like to grow a variety of things. I am a novice gardener without a ton of cash to burn. I want to learn all that I can, but I do not garden on a large scale, nor do I garden to sell. I can't have a compost pile yet because I rent (and who wants to move a compost bin) but would someday like to. I have a "Lasagna Garden" that is cooking until the weather warms up, a couple of months at least here in San Diego. I want basic organic gardening information, plant care information, anything that is suited to me.

Thanks you for your help.

Comments (4)

• phoenix7801
    17 years ago

Well you are doing the lasagna garden which is a good start. In addition there are types of plants that you can grow that dont grow very large. Lilliput zinnias, smaller sunflowers, root crops, Bush sugar baby watermelons, bush zuchinni are just to name a few. I noticed you said you dont want a big honking compost bin at the moment. Why not create a worm bin. Theyll stay quiet, take care of your veggie scraps and theyll multiply to be able to take on more garbage when you decide to expand. You being in san diego im sure there is someone who will have worms to give you. As for basic gardening and plant care info, just ask a specific answer and youll get tons of responses. Basic organic practices incompasses alot. Do you know what a leaf thief is? lol

• Dibbit
    17 years ago

The other thing you can do is utilise the public library system. If your local library doesn't have a book on hand, there is interlibrary loan - they can get it for you from wherever it is in stock - it might take a couple of weeks, but... If you really like a book, then you can buy it.