Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardengopi

Can I use sulfur

gardengopi
15 years ago

Dear all,

A basic question from a novice here:

A gardener told me that applying sulfur was an acceptable practice in organic gardening to make alkaline soil more acidic. Is this true or do I have to find another solution?

Thank you

Comments (17)

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    15 years ago

Because it is a naturally occurring mineral, sulfur is approved as an organic soil amendment. However, it is not fast acting, it's effects are temporary and it takes a great deal to effect any significant change in soil pH.

• gardengopi
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thank you for your advice

• dchall_san_antonio
    15 years ago

I see you live in Italy. Do you know the pH of the soil now? And where to you want it to be?

Do you know the nature of your soil? Is it mostly organic material, mostly clay, limestone? Seems to me there is a lot of limesone in Italy but I may be thinking of somewhere else. Are you trying to grow something that is not adapted to your area?

I'm not a big fan of using sulfur. It becomes sulfuric acid and kills the soil fungi as it changes the pH of the soil. Still, if you need to change the pH, sulfur is about the only organic approved material that will get you there quickly. General organic gardening with organic fertilizers usually changes the pH without doing anything else.

• Kimmsr
    15 years ago

Applying large quantities of organic matter to soil will tend to raise the soils pH, not lower it. Sulfur is an acceptable way to lower your soils pH if that needs to be done, however, sufficient levels of organic matter in the soil can provide a buffer so plants will grow quite well even if the soils pH is not to their liking.

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    15 years ago

sufficient levels of organic matter in the soil can provide a buffer so plants will grow quite well even if the soils pH is not to their liking

On what do you base this statement?