Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
organic_courtney

yellow poppy leaves?

organic_courtney
16 years ago

THis is my first year of planting poppies, and I have a large yard where they are planted all over. I haave noticed on a few of them, the leaves are turning yellow, but the vien in the leaves stays green. I just put sone some dried blood, limestone, and rock phosphate to help my soil (I have clay soil, acidic ). The funny thing is that most of my poppies don't have the yellow leaves. Is this a soil deficiency? Please help. I cant lose my beautiful flowers! ( blossoms haven't some out yet) Thanks for any insight!

Comments (7)

• Heathen1
    16 years ago

What kind of poppies do you have? How much are you watering? I am not an expert on growing plants in zone 7, so I am USUALLY inclined to think too much water, but other than that, without more info, I can't guess.

• organic_courtney
    Original Author
    16 years ago

They are corn poppies, and I could be watering too much. In my zone it's best to plant poppies in the fall, but I planted in the spring. So I was concerned that they would get too hot too fast, and I have been watering alot. However, the ones I planted in our field next to our house also are turning yellow, and I've given them no attention at all. Once they germinated I basically let them thrive on their own. So back to square one I guess.

• gurley157fs
    16 years ago

I don't have an answer as to why they are turning yellow BUT...

I am in zone7b/8a and my poppies always start to 'turn' right about now. I consider them a spring time plant along with the sweet peas. Once the weather starts to turn hot both poppies and sweet peas start to yellow and die. Sometimes I get another flush of poppies in the fall but mostly they are just spring flowers for me.