Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
adamark

Please do not laugh...

adamark
14 years ago

This is my first year. I didn't read before I started seeding. Anyway, I planted beats (!), lettuce and cabbage a couple of weeks ago. Now I have pretty nice seedlings (a bit leggy, though) and I don't know what to do next. Did any of you EVER transplanted beats? I guess lettuce and cabbage would be OK, since I've seen them in stores. Do I have to wait for second/third leaves?

Comments (10)

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    14 years ago

No laughing here! Though we don't thinks of beets as being a transplantable crop (since they are a root vegetable), they actually CAN do quite well! Lots of people say that their beet transplants do better than those which are sown directly into the soil. I know of some commercial growers who are starting their beets in the greenhouse, then transplanting them as soon as the weather permits!

My only concern is how soon you'll be able to get your plants into the garden. Did you sow the seeds in a flat, or into individual cell packs (or similar)?

Lack of sufficient sunlight (or artificial light in the correct spectrum) and/or excess heat are often the reason(s) for leggy seedlings. Your crops can do very well in a chilly room (ok...cold) at this point. If you heated the soil to spur germination, unplug the source of heat.

• adamark
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks rhizo 1, since these are my FIRST seedlings, I'm committed. They are in single cells. Looks like almost all seed sprouted so I'll have to do some killing. Light - two fluorescent bulbs (store type?). I just noticed, one just died. They are in the basment, however, heated. They only have one set of leves, cotyledones? same cabbage and lettuce.

• digdirt2
    14 years ago

Hi adamark - my primary concern is that you started these awfully early. ;) It's going to be some time before they can go to the garden in your zone.