Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hoovorff

Gertrude Jekyll, Sophy's Rose, or...?

hoovorff
16 years ago

I'm in my first year of growing roses, and I'm already thinking about what to plant next year. This is fun!

So far, I've planted several yellow roses (Golden Celebration, Molineux) and apricot-colored (Abraham Darby). I also planted a Brother Cadfael and Jubilee Celebration (my favorite). I love them all. (Only my Mayflowers are giving me a bit of trouble.)

I'd like a brighter, "louder" pink in the mix. I like the look of Gertrude Jekyll a lot. Sophy's Rose seems to be even more hot pink.

I'm also open to other suggestions, including non-Austin roses. Does anyone grow both GJ and Sophy's rose? I'd like to hear feed-back about health, rate of bloom, etc.

Thanks for any help, Jeanie

Comments (13)

• poodlepup
    16 years ago

Hi.
    I picked up a 5 gal Gertrude Jekyll on a whim, and I've schlepped it around from place to place, in and out of pots, for almost a year.

She's been quite the trooper. She's been blooming steadily and has shown no signs of disease..

-That's my experience here in CA SF Bay Area.
    Hope that helps.

Kate

• michaelg
    16 years ago

Gertrude Jekyll is a diva rose, extremely beautiful but highly susceptible to blackspot in the eastern half of the country, terribly thorny, rangy, and stingy with repeat bloom.

• cupshaped_roses
    16 years ago

Gertrude Jekyll is so much better than Sophys rose!!! It is very healthy and hardy for me. It does not rebloom much though and without hard pruning it becomes leggy and a awkward grower. The scent is magnificient ..so is the shape, colour and amount of flowers of flowers.