Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardeningheidi

Does pouring boiling water on compost kill beneficial bacteria?

GardeningHeidi
10 years ago

Relatively new gardener here with what is probably a total newbie question.

I just read what struck me as a brilliant idea for pouring boiling water on compost to kill weed seeds. However, it has been my understanding that part of the great benefit of compost is all its lovely little bacteria, and I know boiling water kills bacteria, so I was confused by this suggestion.

The person who made the suggestion is a vastly better gardener than I am, so I know they're probably right that this if fine to do to compost. I'm just curious about WHY they're right. Does the beneficial bacteria somehow survive the water or is the value of compost not really in the bacteria at all?

Comments (13)

• nc_crn
    10 years ago

It will only kill the bacteria in the part of the pile at and near the surface where it was applied. The deeper bacteria in the pile should be just fine.

The pile should be able to regenerate it's "good" bacteria quite quickly...especially with the soil warmed up.

• florauk
    10 years ago

By the time the water hit the compost and reached any weed seeds I should imagine it would be well below boiling. And how were you going to deliver the water? A stream from a kettle would be far to little. For the same reason it won't hurt many bacteria it won't kill many seeds.

• GardeningHeidi
    Original Author
    10 years ago