Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sweet_pea_514

New to roses - what to do in Fall and when to prune?

sweet_pea_514
16 years ago

Hi -

I am very new to gardening and bought a home full of flowers. We have several rose (bushes?) on our property and I'm not sure what to do to take care of them over the winter.

I have several roses that don't appear to be "bushes", but a few canes coming out of the ground. I got very little flowering this past summer, mostly because I didn't have time to figure out what to do when we moved in. Now it is Fall and I'm not sure what I should do. Should I prune now or in the spring? Should I be putting down any mulch or fertilizer.

I also have a beautiful ramber, or climber and I have the same questions. We had beautiful flowers on this plant. There are quite a number of canes on this one.

Any help would be appreciated!!

Thanks!

Comments (4)

• stone_garden
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Greetings sweet_pea - I am pretty new to this forum! - I have been growing miniature roses and other roses for a while, BUT just from reading the posts there are far more knowledgeable people than I. Also, some people tend their roses more carefully than I do, I just do what I think more or less as basic care. Soooooooo:

1) Don't be intimidated by what seems to be complicated rose care. I may be wrong, but I am going to guess that the roses you inherited are probably some basic hybrid teas or climbers that the "average" homeowner plants, and maybe fertilized every now and again (that's what I inherited from a previous owner). Although possibly you inherited some real gems if the former owner was a gardener, and it really is worth bringing neglected bushes back most of the time. You won't really know until they get a little care and flower, unless you can identify the bushes - did the previous owners leave any plant markers behind?