Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cobretti_gw

Newbie question; calling ALL experts!

cobretti
12 years ago

Hi everyone! I'm 90 miles northwest of Chicago, zone 5. I just received 4 2' dormant bald cypress seedlings in the mail. I should A) plant them and worry about freeze because it's coming soon. B) pot them, overwinter in an unheated garage and plant in the spring. C) pot them, grow them in my basement over the winter with commercial grow lights and plant them in the spring. Please advise; the ground becomes harder by the day. ANY advice is much appreciated! Thanks in advance, JMB

Comments (12)

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    12 years ago

I'm not an expert.....but I'd pot them and overwinter in the unheated garage,
    making sure that their roots never dry out completely.

Josh

• aspenacres
    12 years ago

I agree to plant them in spring. I live in the southern interior of BC, also zone 5. It's already snowed here.

• alexander3_gw
    12 years ago

I don't think there's any need to worry about them freezing since they are dormant. If you plant them now, they may get some root growth in the ground. The ground isn't actually frozen there already, is it?

Option B is fine too, if it makes you worry less, but I don't see any real advantage for the trees.

Option C is a really bad idea. Once dormant, they need a minimum amount of time in the cold (called chill-hour requirement) before they will come out of dormancy. If you put them under lights all winter, they may break dormancy after a long time, maybe not. If you do this until spring and they don't break dormancy, then it won't be cold enough outside to fulfill their chill hour requirement, and you'll have to put them in a refrigerator for a couple months. Don't try to overcome their need for the dormancy period unless you are just experimenting and are willing to lose the trees.

Alex

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    12 years ago

where in z5 .. it is too variable to give an answer w/o specificity