Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bettyn_gw

Elvis - flower scapes dried

BettyN
18 years ago

I have an Elvis bulb that I purchased last fall. Two flower scapes started to emerge. They grew just out of the bulb with little of the stem showing and then they dried up. Now there is a healthy clump of leaves. Imagine my disappointment!

What would cause this?

Comments (20)

• mymanga
    18 years ago

I am new in and is not expert, but I got some problem with 10 Elvas bulbs as well .
    I just dug them out tonight, and I fount they tend to rot easily. You may want to dig the bulb out to check for any rot.
    Out of my 10, 4 has bulb rot. I peeled off the rotten layer and spray with Physan20 and dust with cinnamon.
    This is the first time I did this and hopefully this will work.
    Check to see if you get any roots. I found they have very little root develop on the problem one.
    Now I have to find out how to promote root growth
    Good luck to us both.
    Michele

• soultan
    16 years ago

I buy a new Elvas every year for the same reason. I have never seen a fully developed Elvas bloom yet. The scapes shrivel down as mentioned above. Is it possible that Elvas is a little weaker variety and tends to do this. Anyone else having problems with Elvas?
    I know Cindee is happy with hers. And to think that it is the sister of my Elvas...

• cindeea
    16 years ago

My Elvas was stunning! did your Elvas fail again, Soultan? Weren't they from the same place? Same time?

{{gwi:394658}}

• Noni Morrison
    16 years ago

CIndee! THat is too utterly Gorgeous!

I bought my ELvas bulb at the grocery it was defintely a lower quality bulb, and I had the same problem with a drying out first stalk. The second one was pretty but only 4 inches high.

• zubababy
    16 years ago

cindee i love how pink those petals are!

my elvas from parks bloomed well
    {{gwi:394660}}

• jackie_o
    16 years ago