Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
xoxosmom_gw

Looking for native plants similar to bougainvillea?

xoxosmom
16 years ago

I am brand new to gardening and landscaping, I have planted a few flowers bought from the local hardware store with varied success. We are building a new home so I thought this is the perfect time to try out my green thumb.

We live in zone 11 and it gets very hot in the summer. I have a bougainvillea that is thriving in our current home without my interference. In our new home the first place I would like to tackle gets the same sun exposure and faces the same direction. Can anyone give me names of similar plant/shrub that I can plant? I am looking for something that can grow in a flower bed and grow vertically in between the two windows in the picture.

{{gwi:505321}}

Should I stick with bougainvillea? The drive way will curve in front of it so I need something that won't be to hard to manage. I would really like a california type plant if that makes sense.

I looked through the faq's section at the recommended books and plan on running to the library. Any other advice or rec's are much appreciated.

Comments (14)

• gobluedjm 9/18 CA
    16 years ago

I wouldn't think the Boug's would survive a winter there unless very protected. Get a Western Garden Book or look thru one. There are tons of natives.
    How wide is the bed and which direction does it face?
    Boug's don't do well here in summer and you get hotter then here.

• Central_Cali369
    16 years ago

Bouganvillea survive down to zone 9. where exactly in zone 11 are you? the only zone 11 i am aware of in Cal are the areas adjascent to the coast (san diego, santa monica...) Everything else is z9 and 10 in southern california (which is where i guess you are)

• gobluedjm 9/18 CA
    16 years ago

Central-cali369, I think xoxo means sunset zone which is the high desert.
    I have seen Boug's freeze here in my zone and also die from the heat in Sept.

• joereal
    16 years ago