Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nerdycellist

Succulent ID and caring for it

nerdycellist
10 years ago

Hi-

This is my first time posting here, and to be honest, my first time taking care of a plant more complicated than lima beans. I bought this little thing in a consignment shop (of all places), and I got home before I realized that I don't know the first thing about what it is or how to care for it.

When I got it, the leaves were spongy and limp. I've had it about a week and I've been putting a small splash of water in the pot (roughly 3" diameter at the top, and about 1 to 2 tsp each morning). However, in the past few days it's developed some brown spots. The leaves do feel stiffer and slightly waxy, which I'm guessing is good, but the brown spots concern me a bit.

So, to my questions:

1. What do I have? I know it's a succulent and that's about it.

2. How often should I water it, how much sunlight, and does it need a bigger pot?

I'm a bit excited, since all that I've proven I can take care of easily are fish and this would be a welcome change.

Thank you in advance for your help!

-NC

Comments (6)

• JoeCaudex
    10 years ago

I'm not certain of the species, maybe a Crassula of some kind.

In terms of watering, it only needs water once a week. The brown spots could be signs of over watering. Did you pot it yourself? What kind of soil mixture do you use?

If it is a Crassula then it loves part sun. Mine get full sun in the morning and then bright light in the afternoon. I am in the UK though so it may be a bit different for you.

• averil
    10 years ago

I've just googled images and I think it could be a crassula tetragona, which I know nothing about. I have different crassula which get morning summer sun and late afternoon shade outside but like Joe I am in UK so may be different. I've had loads of help on here so I'm sure someone will let you know better than me
    Regards
    Averil UK

• hanzrobo
    10 years ago

What up, Nerd?