Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
floralflood94

Sedum Hybrid "Burrito/Donkey Tail" leaves fell off

FloralFlood94
10 years ago

I recently purchased this Sedum Hybrid from the store and just days later, during a huge storm, the wind blew little "Jelly bean" leaves off of my sedums!!!

I researched the plant and found out that this Donkey Tail sedum is very fragile and that the little bean leaves fall off quite easily.

There are many missing from the center stalk and quite a few missing from the others. I saved some of these leaves and placed them on the pot with the mother plants.

Will the mother plants regenerate new leaves to fill in the gaps?

Will the fallen leaves/beans grow into their own plants?

How do I save these sedums???

Comments (13)

• senjanevada
    10 years ago

I am not an expert, but I know those falling leaves can grow new sprouts and become new plants. I did that with other succulent/sedum similar to yours.

Not only the leaves, the stem also can be cut and stick in on the soil, they will roots.

Good luck.

• kathi_mdgd
    10 years ago

Yes they will grow into new plants and fill in the pot.
    Kathi

• rosemariero
    10 years ago

Yes, the fallen leaves can grow-you leave them on the (slightly moist) soil. (Some will just shrivel up.) The mother plant will never fill in those areas. If the stem gets too naked, best to cut off & reroot that piece. Your plant is not a hybrid. It's name is Sedum burrito (a species). Some have given this the common name Baby Donkey Tail, but those get very confusing. Best to stick with the Latin, IMHO! =)

Good luck!!

• FloralFlood94
    Original Author
    10 years ago

The label on the plastic cup it is in said: Donkey Tail "Burrito" sedum hybrid. Thanks for letting me know that it is really called something else!