Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lavender_lass

Why do you love to garden???

lavender_lass
13 years ago

I know there's a lot of negatives right now, with the odd weather, weeds growing like crazy, bad winters, etc., but I thought it would be nice to remember why we love to garden.

I'm still pretty new at all this, but I love to garden because it let's me combine my love of fresh food, flowers and shrubs into an area where we can enjoy the beauty of it all...with a surprising number of birds, bees and butterflies. There are more insects (many beneficial I hope) showing up every day. So far, they seem to like what I'm doing, but I need to figure out how to get the birds (which I love to have visit) to please quit eating my pumpkin seeds :)

Why do you love to garden?

Comments (17)

• aftermidnight Zone7b B.C. Canada
    13 years ago

For me it's like breathing, can't live without it. Weather problems I relate to having the flu or having a cold, sooner of later it goes away. On the other hand weeds are like a bad rash that I can't seem to get rid of.

Annette

• Thyme2dig NH Zone 5
    13 years ago

I enjoyed gardening when I first started, kind of was tinkering around with different perennials, etc.

We built a new house on a great piece of propery with lots of potential about 11 years ago. Not long after we moved my son was born. He has a fairly rare genetic disorder and through all of the trials and tribulations with that over the last 10 years, gardening really has become my therapy. I don't just tinker anymore. I became immersed in it full-force. It is a must to have a hobby/passion with a special-needs child or the disability becomes too all-consuming.

I love coming home after work (rain or shine) to weed, prune, plant or do whatever in the garden for an hour or so. Clears my head from work and then I can always start my evening on a good note. Especially since my awesome DH always prepares dinner while I'm gardening!

• gardenbear1
    13 years ago