Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chinnend

Where to buy Picea orientalis 'Skylands Seedling'

chinnend
14 years ago

Hi All,

I've been lurking for quite awhile and find you all so informative. I'm a relative newbie to conifers but am an old gardener (in more ways than one :). Does anyone know where I could purchase a Picea orientalis 'skylands seedling'? I'm sure going through withdrawl this year and am reading and surfing like crazy. I'm thinking that this is another 'must have' for me and I'm trying to find it with no luck.

Thanks so much, Cindi

Comments (12)

• bluespruce53
    14 years ago

The problem is Cindi, There many different 'Skylands seedlings in circulation, so not really any chance of knowing what you are likely to get

• gardener365
    14 years ago

I sent some scionwood to Gee Farms last winter so expect a few possibly for sale in the future....

If you were to use the GW search engine, for: kmanzfive and 'Skyland Seedling', ...you're likely to see the plant he originally sent the scionwood from, just to me.

Iseli Nursery Corporation during the sixties sent out 'Skylands seedlings' in 6 packs marked for collectors, mainly, back then... That's the origin of however many seedlings are out there and, I have no answer to how many of these six packs were, released.

If I were in your position, I'd contact Gee's to inquire what can be done.

Good luck to ya.

Dax

• gardener365
    14 years ago

Meant to say each 6 pack had only 1 ('Skylands Seedling') which is the way this plant should be labeled to generate assumption to the ('naming') of any certain plant that maintains any sort of history such as this plant has, in my professional opinion, ...having worked with the history and naming of cultivated conifers for the ACS (American Conifer Society) Database...