Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
angelamarie43

chocolate mint

angelamarie43
17 years ago

ya'll are so lucky. I have planted it a few years ago. It barely survived the winter months. This year it didnt. I replanted this past spring, and I got about 15 /20 leaves to use in my cooking. POUT!!!! You all are so lucky to have it spread, I tried and I cannot grow it here.

Does anyone know where you can buy it in a dried form?

You know. Like you buy Salt and pepper. lol

Please email me if you know where. I have searched over and over for dried and cant find it.

angelamarie43@yahoo.com

Comments (7)

• Heathen1
    17 years ago

Uh, what's your zone? I'd THINK it'd live fine in Tennessee!

• herb_lover_grower
    17 years ago

I have never seen or heard of chocolate mint. That is wonderful to me. DO you have any to spear and if you do would you be willing to send me some. I do not have anything to trade, i am just starting out. Can that kind of mint grow indoors.

• ltcollins1949
    17 years ago

I have never heard of it being sold dried. Nor have I ever had very good luck with growing it, but give it a try. And you can find it at Richters which states the following:

CHOCOLATE MINT
    Mentha x piperita
    Perennial Uses: culinary teaplant medicinal industrial cosmetic
    For years we resisted offering chocolate mint because we were convinced the 'chocolateness' was a figment of someone's imagination. But customers continued to insist that there is such a thing and brought us plants to prove it. As we suspected, most are pretty much the same as true peppermint, but one strain surprised us. Hard to pin down as truly 'chocolate', but its clean fragrance of peppermint is overlaid by something else that adds up to a striking 'peppermint patty' scent. A real treat for discriminating noses!

• greth_gardener
    17 years ago