Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
castorp

Peacock ginger? Prayer plant? zebra plant? Suggestions?

castorp
10 years ago

Hi,

I'm looking for a low perennial (less than one foot) with interesting leaves for fairly deep shade in zone 9. I'm considering either peacock ginger (Kaempferia) prayer plant (Marantha), or a low growing zebra plant (Calathea). I have no experience with any of these, so I was wondering if any of you could tell me yours.

My basic concern is that the peacock gingers will be dormant too long (nearly half the year, from what I've read), and that the prayer plant and zebra plants won't be hardy enough for my zone.

I'm hoping one of you will tell of a great peacock ginger with shorter dormancy, or that prayer plants will come back from the roots after a freeze, or something else encouraging. Or I could just hunt down a more discreet caladium . . . . Any other suggestions? Thank you.

Bill

Comments (11)

• garyfla_gw
    10 years ago

hi
    IME Calathear/marantas do MUCH better in pots and require a lot of water .I love them but they do need care how about some of the aroid family Alocasia/colocasia you can get about any color size you would like .. There are gingers that don't go dormant Alpinia comes to mind but many get gigantic lol one of my favorite plants is Persian shield flowers aren't much but the leaves are fantastic ,can be kept any size you choose .
    BTW Caladiums go dormant also even the so called evergreen types though it's much shorter than the regulars
    how about some of the codiums?? there are even super dwarf cultivars with many leaf shapes.,Many types of Bromeliads do very well in shade gary

• katkin_gw
    10 years ago

How about variegated cast iron plant, but it get's about 18 inches tall. But I love it for a shady spot.

• castorp
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks to you both.