Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cat_delgado_gw

Hydrangea special pinks will all turn blue?

cat_delgado
14 years ago

Okay, so I'm new to gardening and I think I really made a big boo boo with my emerging garden beds and was hoping to get the opions of more experienced gardeners than myself. My house sits on a small lot with garden beds around 3 sides of the house. The front faces ( I think south west? ) anyway it never gets direct sun the front of the house is always in darkness NOT deep dark just not direct light. So here's my dilemma, I bought a lot of specialty hydrangeas to put around the house (rasberry parfait, harlequin, red) and had planned on creating all red and pink beds around them (already bought numerous red and pink shade & partial shade perrenials to fill in the gaps). WELLLL, my next door neighbor gave me a few cuttings of her Nikko Blue's this summer past and when I put them in the ground they were (TADA) bright blue. I recently read that ph will affect certain hydrangeas, so my ultimate question is. Will my specialty hydrangea's turn blue as well or do I need to get different type's to get all pink flowers? AND I placed the Nikko's in front of the house to over winter there until I figured out where to permanently place them, is there a PINK or WHITE blooming hydrangea that can do well in INdirect sunlight that my soil won't make blue and grows 4 or 5 ft high?

thanks so much for the input. Hoping I can salvage my design sighh...

Comments (4)

• luis_pr
    14 years ago