Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
winterb_gw

Hydrofarm's Emily's Garden - frustrated!!

WinterB
12 years ago

Hi,

I'm brand new to hydro and I bought a Hydrofarm Emily's Garden to start. I just transplanted my 6 seedlings (lettuce, spinach and chard) into the system last week, and one already died, the other ones growing painfully slow.

I have been reading a lot on hydro systems, and I can't figure out if Emily's Garden is DWC or passive wick. The pots are way too tall (about 9-10", while water level is only about 2") . I suspect even at full maturity, roots are not going to be able to reach water. Also, the pump only puts out 1.2L/min. On the other hand, the system used to come with wicks (so it's a passive wick?), but now no longer does.

My seedlings are doing terribly because they dry out very fast, so I just put in my own wicks yesterday (Pellon fleece from Joann). But from what I read, passive wick systems do not work very well as the wicks cannot send nutes up fast enough.

If you have seen or used this system, can you please explain if this is meant to be a DWC or passive wick? And what are the tricks to get it to work? I'm starting to regret this purchase. I would've probably been better off making my own DWC from a rubbermaid...

Thank you for your help!

Comments (14)

• ethnobotany
    12 years ago

Looking at the instructions and diagrams of this system (I included a link at the bottom of this for you to look at yourself) it appears kinda like a DWC. The hydroton pebbles are very porous and will absorb the water, much like a wick. So the water level doesn't need to be all that high, just tall enough to reach the clay pebbles.

Quick question... did you pre-plant the seeds in rockwool? If you did, are the seedlings roots showing through the cube?? The seedlings roots must be showing through, because the rockwool is not porous like the clay pebbles and will not soak up water as well, leaving your plants hanging dry ...