Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kea2_gw

basil cuttings wilting outdoors

kea2
16 years ago

Hi, I'm new to hydroponics and am experimenting with some clay pellets. I managed to root some 4 inch cuttings of Chinese basil in a jar of water. When the roots were 1.5 to 2 inches long, I planted them in some hydroculture clay pellets in a converted soda bottle planter like this:

http://www.insideplantslive.org/archives/000951.php

They've been in their new planters for about a week an a half. I'm trying to bring them outdoors bit by bit because basil supposedly likes full sun. To start with, I put them outside in the shade on the East side of the house with a full reservoir. It's about 30 degrees celcius out. Within a couple of hours, they went all limp. This has happened on two separate occasions. I was able to revive them by bringing them inside, watering them from the top and misting them.

I don't think the roots are able to draw enough moisture from the clay pellets out in the heat and the breeze. Do you have any advice on how I can help them to get acclimatized to the outdoors?

Comments (10)

• safwat
    16 years ago

I would change the medium to perlite or a mixture of perlite and vermiculite, make sure the wick is reaching the bottom of the reservoir and the top of the wick is long enough to wet up the medium.

• greystoke
    16 years ago

You can mix sand and perlite/vermiculite in 1:1 volumes to give the plant some support. You can also use sawdust with sand.

• greystoke
    16 years ago

Forgot to mention:
    Check out "New to Hydroponics", to view some pics on this system.

• kea2
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thanks, I checked it out. How much risk do you run of over-watering using the perlite and wick system? That's always been a problem for me, which is one major reason why I switched to hydroponics.

• greystoke
    16 years ago