Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
steeltowninwv

yet another mending the soil question

steeltowninwv
9 years ago

I have did many holes already..i go way bigger than needed...about to do some more..the last few I did I basically removed the clay soil...then filled the hole in with leaf gro...and some potting mix....I also have garden soil peat moss, and mini pine bark nuggets ..should I mix in some of this as well?

Comments (16)

• funnthsun z7A - Southern VA
    9 years ago

You have to be careful with clay soil. If you dig a hole in clay and amend the hole, you can very easily just make a big clay bowl that doesn't drain and that's bad. Also, roots of plants will grow in the bowl and won't reach into the harder to grow clay soil, so they will start to circle in the "bowl" and the plant will suffer. The best thing for clay soil is to heavily amend the whole bed (I know, I know, but I have A LOT of experience with clay) by digging in several inches of compost or aged manure and then planting in the bed. If you have to, you can do a section at a time until you get it all done. If it were me, I would till in the compost/manure. This will give you the best results with clay. Then, each year, top dress with compost/manure at least in the Spring, but Spring and early Fall is the best.

Take it from me, I've been dealing with clay for 15 years and have tried it all. This is the fastest results and the best results, unless you want to think about raised beds.

• lazy_gardens
    9 years ago

he last few I did I basically removed the clay soil...then filled the hole in with leaf gro...and some potting mix....I also have garden soil peat moss, and mini pine bark nuggets ..should I mix in some of this as well?