Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
paceyswitters

24 hour light after first sprouts?

paceyswitters
13 years ago

Hey all,

This is my first try at growing peppers (or anything, really, except for one thing). My experience with another plant has been that you should keep it lit 24/7 at first. Same deal here?

I've got jalapenos, seranos, bhut jolokias, tomatos, and sweet peppers in a single flat under a T5 light at the moment. Some sprouts have popped up; others are still germinating (hopefully) after about 7 days now. They're on a heating pad in my closet at the moment; eventually, I'll be moving them to a 2 self-watering containers outdoors. I'm not concerned about cross pollination�in fact, while I'm not planning on it, I think it would be kind of cool to cross a sweet pepper with something hotter just for fun, so if it happens that would be great.

Anyways, wish me luck!

Comments (25)

• EZCyclone
    13 years ago

16 hours max I go from 6a to 12a, go get a cheap timer from wally world, they are like $4. Anything more than that and your plants will not be happy.

• paceyswitters
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thank you sir; on that note, I'm going to go turn off right now, as they've been going for 26 right now :).

• EZCyclone
    13 years ago

I guess I go for 18 hours, I might tone mine back a bit.

E

• paceyswitters
    Original Author
    13 years ago

I'm in MT, where our last frost comes in early June (so I'm told � recent import). I've read that HPS lighting is a great substitute in the meantime, but it seems pricey. Are there any cheap alternatives I'm not thinking of for once this single T5 becomes too little?

Thanks again!

• tlowery04
    13 years ago