Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bluestarrgallery

Fragrant Roses for Cutting Zone 9 Calif ???

bluestarrgallery
19 years ago

Hello,

I am fairly new to the Garden Web Forum. I moved here this past April and have since been sizing up my climate. My summers are hot, dry, and windy - wind almost every afternoon even in summer. In summer, we can get a week or more of over 100 and many upper 90s. Winters are relatively mild - we did get a week long cold snap of 24 F but generally it only gets to just freezing in winter.

I am looking for advice on what fragrant roses to grow for cutting. I want to try some old fashioned roses and others types too but I don't have much experience with growing roses en mass. Most of my growing experience has been with perennials. I did have a rose called Apricot Nectar many years ago and I just loved it - it was always good looking with little or no care, and a great fragrant cut flower. I want to grow my roses without using any sprays because I am also growing lavender and herbs which are used for culinary purposes. I was thinking of doing a large raised bed with a rich amended soil to give the roses a good start and I was going to mulch with wood bark. (I have found I must use aviary wire underground for everything due to a very high gopher population - otherwise they will eat all I plant).

Can anyone suggest some roses which might fit my needs? I would like to try a variety of colors, shapes and sizes.

Thank you for any help you can give and happy holidays to you all.

Linda

Sunset Zone 9 CA

Comments (4)

• WildBloom
    19 years ago

Linda,

Although I am in zone 9 also, my climate is much different than yours. I live along the coast and rarely get temps. above 85 or below 45. Typically we are in the 60's and 70's.