Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dakster

For those of you who buy the plants and DO NOT start from seed...

dakster
15 years ago

...in your experience what "brand" of plant have you had the most success with? Along with other veggies, I am looking to plant Grape and Beefsteak (style) tomatoes in my newly minted patch of earth (bless my DH for digging it out). I already own tomato cages too..thought it would be smart to get them asap before I actually needed them.

The garden is about 12 x 5 and I am planning on doing short rows vs long ones so I can fit more variety in the space. I would assume due to spread I can only have 2 of each tomato plant, which is fine because there are only 2 of us in the house.

I'm also new to veggie gardening. Growing up my grandfathers both had amazing gardens and I had fond memories of picking the tomatoes, shelling the peas and whatnot. I want my daughter to have the same learning experiences I did, you know, like food actually does not come from a store but from the earth! And hopefully she will eventually appreciate it more knowing how much can go into getting your daily bread.

Thank you so much! :)

Comments (9)

• slo_garden
    15 years ago

Congratulations on your new garden! When you say "brand" I believe you mean "variety" or (proper term) "cultivar." There are literally 1000's of varieties of tomato, and we don't know what is available at your local nurseries. Maybe you could make a list of what they have and solicit opinions about those specific varieties. Otherwise, people are going to be suggesting all kinds of things that may or may not be relevant to you (not that we won't do that anyway :)

• digdirt2
    15 years ago

Well the only "brand" of plants available around here is Bonnie's Plants as they are the biggest plant grower/supplier in the south. Otherwise you have to buy your plants from a local grower who sells at the farmer's market or one of the few local nurseries who grow their own.