Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hull_o

Thermador or Wolf propane gas range top?

hull-o
15 years ago

We are remodeling a 25+ year old kitchen. The trips to the appliance stores are overwhelming - information overload. I feel a bit like a kid in a candy shop. I am also new to Garden Web and have read many forums with lots of opinions and advice. I know I want a gas range top that is reliable, easy to use and clean and offers power as well as a good simmer. I think I have narrowed my choice between Thermador and Wolf. Any advice from Thermador or Wolf users would be appreciated. Thank you very much.

HULL-O

Comments (7)

• shannonplus2
    15 years ago

Thermador's burners' simmer setting makes a clicking noise. Some people on this Forum say it's not a big deal, and others on this Forum find it annoying. Just one more thing to consider.

• rhome410
    15 years ago

Oh, DUH. You are definitely using propane, since you said so in your post title! Sorry. Then I would definitely go with a manufacturer that builds the appliance especially for propane without BTU loss. That would include Wolf, Capital, BlueStar, Monogram, and I assume, DCS, since I think they make the Monogram rangetops. There may be more, since Monograms weren't that way when I was looking, but have changed. Maybe it's not as important to others, but I feel a rangetop that has to be converted and loses power in the process, may not work as well or easily as one designed for the fuel I'm using.

• hull-o
    Original Author
    15 years ago

rhome410 - Thank you for the information regarding propane ranges. I didn't realize that certain brands made propane ready ranges while others need to be converted. I am looking at the Wolf open burner model. How do you clean the black underpans? And do you know about the low simmer temperature? Thanks again for your advice!

• rhome410
    15 years ago