Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pamelah_gw

Need feedback on planned built in

pamelah
13 years ago

http://i813.photobucket.com/albums/zz59/pamelah_photo/Marlin%20Dr/bunkandworkoutroom.jpg

This is my first attempt to load a photo, so I hope it works!

At issue is my planned built-in for this room. The room will be multi-purpose. On a day to day basis it will house our treadmill and exercise bike. The flat TV will be hung on the left wall. The occasional use of the room will be as sleeping/lounging/gaming facility for my nephews and our grandchildren. 3 kids at a time in one room.

My wild, but hope it works idea, is to build in a daybed type unit that runs the 15' length of the right wall and 9' along the top wall (behind the powder wall). The flooring will be wood plank. The bed areas will be standard 39" single wide on platform, built in storage below for bedding. Mattress covers and big back pillows covered in Sunbrella, with assorted throw pillows. The treadmill and bike can be moved to the left wall when the kids are using the room. Otherwise, they will be in the center of the room facing the TV.

How crazy is this idea? Have you seen such a large built-in?

Comments (9)

• pamelah
    Original Author
    13 years ago

This link will work.

Here is a link that might be useful:

• calirose
    13 years ago

Your plan sounds okay, except I don't think you have enough room. A twin mattress is 39x75; an "L" shape of (75+75+39" =15.75ft) Are bunk mattresses smaller?

• PRO
    Diane Smith at Walter E. Smithe Furniture
    13 years ago

I did a quick floor plan with the rectangle signifying a 32" x 60" treadmill. After making the plan I looked back and saw where you door was (oops!) so that will have to go elsewhere. The beds are sized in the plan at 42" wide x 78" long which include a HB which you won't be using. Anyway, this will give a quick visual. As calirose said, it will be tight. The concept sounds fun. I bet the kids would love it!

• les917