Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jesse_s

swg, automatic covers, uv, ozone, HELP

jesse_s
15 years ago

I am just beginning this process and I am trying to educate myself before I start to work with a pool professional. There is so much conflicting advice. Some from experts, and I can't tell who has a vested interest and who is just being helpful, hen there are the people with personal experience. So, what I want ideally is SWG (what is SWCG?) with an automatic cover, but many say the cover will rust. Please, can someone give me some clear answers on this? I am in an area where the pool will be used for May through September. Thanks!

Comments (8)

• psfc
    15 years ago

SWCG=saltwater chlorine generator. As for the cover, I do not know for certain if it will rust (likely that it will) but I can say that my pool (use a salt system) has been fairly effective at quickly rusting metal objects (even the painted items). I would see about getting references for the automatic cover and see if yoiu can question the owners.

• Rack Etear
    15 years ago

Where the problems lie with using a salt system on a pool with the cover is somewhat 2 fold.

First as the cover rolls up it brings in salty water ( less than 4,000 ppm salt). Which is not incredibly corrosive by itself, but once it dries on the roller the water goes away it leaves pure salt behind on the roller and mechanism. In less than 2 years we have seen massive corrosion of the aluminum tubes and castings that the cover rolls up onto.

Second, since you are increasing the conductivity of the water, and are introducing a low voltage dc current into the water (for chlorine production) it rapidly increases the amount of electrolytic destruction to items that are constantly in contact with the water.

These problems are unique to salt pools.