Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
beginnerpiecer

converting machine quilting pattern to hand quilting

beginnerpiecer
14 years ago

Hello,

I'm a beginner quilter and have joined a quilting club where we are doing several blocks a month. I started by hand piecing the blocks and then realized the patterns were for machine piecing and my blocks would be too big. I'd like to do the blocks with hand piecing but most of the patterns are for machine piecing. Is there an easy way that I can convert the pattern and make templates? Thank you for any help.

Comments (9)

• calliope
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I'm sorry, but I'm not understand exactly what you mean. Are you talking about the piecing-together part of it, or the quilting part of it. Also don't understand why your hand-pieced articles would automatically become too big. You can hand sew most any item the same size as you'd sew them on a machine. The patterns should be interchangeable. Yes, you can make your own templates, btw. I do it all the time and when I really started to get into quilting I began purchasing templates one by one as I could afford them, but still make templates in a pinch.

• toolgranny
    14 years ago

A quarter inch seam is a quarter inch seam. The fact you do it by hand should make no difference. You might have to get a pencil or marker and make lines to show your seam allowances and most importantly, the corner spots where the seams meet, to be accurate. But, you can do any block by hand just as well.

• petalpatsy
    14 years ago

Yup, I agree with the above posts. I do everything by hand, and I don't see how the blocks would automatically turn out too big just because you sew by hand.