Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
alisande_gw

Talk to me about sanding, please.

alisande
17 years ago

I have two very different items in serious need of work. One is an old, massive butcher block. The top looks okay, but the sides show years of drips and who-knows-what-else. I assume it needs to be sanded (and maybe oiled?).

The other is the railing at the upstairs landing. This, too, is quite old. It's not ornate, but the horizontal piece is curved, and it's held up by verticals spaced a few inches apart. The finish is in bad shape, and I'd like to redo it.

I have no refinishing experience, but even I can figure out that the butcher block and the railing require different approaches. What sort of equipment do I need?

All tips appreciatedÂthanks!

Susan

Comments (5)

• sombreuil_mongrel
    17 years ago

Hi,
    Believe it or not, the best method for cleaning/resurfacing the butcher block is scraping. Any sandpaper will clog up with the grease that's penetrated the wood. Chef's supplies will sell a tool for the purpose, or you can use a paint scraper or a cabinet scraper. Used properly any of these will yield a surface ready for a new coat of mineral oil.
    To refinish a handrail, maybe start with some denatured alcohol and steel wool, using a tiny amt. of liquid and working a few inches at a time, wiping up drips immediately; you can actually clean it without much protection below. If the alcohol fails to remove the finish, move up to a refinisher like Formby's. As little as I like this stuff (too $$$), I think it will fill the bill for you. The new finish could be shellac, or penetrating oil. Either one will avoid the plasticky look of poly that is so unbecoming for a vintage home.
    Casey

• brickeyee
    17 years ago

"...start with some denatured alcohol..."

Start with paint thinner. It will not damage the vast majority of surfaces and removes grease and grime very well.