Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
huff6_gw

Help deciding Granite: Key West v. Tropical Brown OAK cabinets

huff6
13 years ago

Hi, all, very newbie here and hopefully I can post some photos as I really need help making a decision. I loved the Key West slabs when I walked thru the granite yard, they really have good color (not too peachy in daylight at all) and quite a bit of dark variation and good "motion". I've seen the tropical brown in my exact kitchen, and it looks very nice but "safe" and I was hoping for something a bit more interesting. I'm limited by budget (no new cabinets) and said cabinets are medium stained oak, definitely not my favorite. Oak floor as well and dark walls.....I am so afraid to make a choice and then hate it as I would have to live with it!! Please comment on the photos I attach as that is an actual door from my kitchen and the actual granite that I have on hold for a few more days.... Thank you in advance!

Here is a link that might be useful:

Comments (8)

• dyno
    13 years ago

What's the price difference? We sprung extra $ for Bianco Springs and while we love it, it doesn't get nearly the number of comments that the sink does. Tropical Brown is definitely common but it is also inexpensive and your photo doesn't look especially unique in comparison.

People will be wowed by the overall kitchen and effective coordination of elements. At least that's what we found. If we were to build again I very much doubt we would spend as much on granite.

• kitchenaddict
    13 years ago

hi huff..

From the one picture I see, I think the Key West looks good with your cabinet. When I picked out my granite, I was sure I wanted something that I thought was special. I had boring Corian counters previously and I didn't want to go that route again. When I saw my granite, I knew it.

If Key West makes YOU say "Wow!" then I would go for it...

KA:)

• cpartist
    13 years ago