Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gigi35976

Going green ... Dark green that is!

gigi35976
9 years ago

Hoping for some help with paint color for my tiny living room. This room is open to my red dining room. I like color - the more the better & I really am a layered look fan. The room is 12' x 14' in a circa 1940's cottage.

So, I want my strong color back & have my heart set on a dark green for this room - am considering something like BM Colonial Verdigris.

Here is a photo of the room. Hope it is properly oriented as this is my first try at posting a photo from my iPad. Any suggestions for a strong, dark green? Actually I welcomer any suggestions - except de-cluttering! Lol!

Comments (64)

• User
    9 years ago

you could also soften the apple green with some gray, so its a sagey apple green. I'm a huge color lover too and totally understand it being a safe choice for you, but for me, my safer colors are the ones I am most comfortable in so whenever I try to switch it up a notch, I eventually end up going back to what I love. I sort of relate it to traveling. Going somewhere new is always fun at first, but in the end there is just no place like home.

• nini804
    9 years ago

How about this? I adore this room & this green...it is the 2013 Southern Living Idea House designed by Phoebe Howard. I am trying to find the name of the paint! Will post when I do.

• nini804
    9 years ago

I found it!! SW Palm Leaf!

• User
    9 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Oh my daughter used palm leaf in her main floor half bath, it's a pretty green too! Itisn't that dark in her little spot tho

• gigi35976
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Nini that Palm Leaf is gorgeous & the light upholstery looks great with it. My room has west facing door/window & one north facing window. It's dim in the morning but very light in afternoon. No overhead light at all - only lamps & the sconces on dimmers. I usually use SW paint so will make a stop there on my way to BM.