Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
duncansmommy

Need advice on growing cucumbers for pickles

duncansmommy
8 years ago

This is my first year to grow what was called bush cucumbers. Is this the proper type with which to make pickles? My husband loves the little sweet pickles (gherkins?) so I want to can a lot of them for him. They are quite small right now--how will I know when to pick them in order to make sweet pickles out of them?

Another question is--I am also growing regular cucumbers. What is the best size to pick them?

Comments (5)

• sleevendog (5a NY 6aNYC NL CA)
    8 years ago

You can make pickles out of any cucumber. I just made a batch of fresh fridge pickles for the weekend. An hour ago.

Some varieties are tiny and picked small... what you have seen as cornichons. I found in my climate that the lemon cukes do well and have such thin skins and small seeds i can pickle without much prep. I don't like sweet at all but like sour/vinegar and garlicy. Very crisp. Nice thing about growing and making your own is that you can make what you like.

You need to do a bit of research and study to get exactly what you want. A bit of trial and error.

A pic of your cukes will help with harvest timing.

Try a fresh pickle that you can eat and snack on tomorrow if made tonight. Lots of easy recipes by googling 'fresh fridge pickle'. Get a taste you want before starting a canning process. Fridge pickles are good for a week or more but mine will not last this holiday weekend.

If you have never canned for storage you need to study that a bit and follow proper procedures.

• laceyvail 6A, WV
    8 years ago

Pickling cukes make better pickles than "eating" cukes, though you can make sliced pickles from either. For whole pickles, definitely use picklers. Picklers are also terrific for eating--firmer, tastier.

• Tobey Green
    8 years ago