Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
arik12345

What to do with this gorgeous hutch?!?

arik12345
8 years ago
I have this built in to my quaint country kitchen. Gorgeous but really beaten up. Should I stain or paint. Either way, I'm a novice so please guide me step by step! Thanks!

Comments (16)

• PRO
    A.C.T. Builders, LLC.
    8 years ago

You have a beautiful piece that I would recommend refinishing rather than painting (it would be a shame to cover up something that gorgeous!). While you can definitely refinish yourself, I would recommend looking into local companies that refinish, as such a large built in piece might not be the best piece to get your feet wet. If having a professional do it isn't in your budget, you can get a lot of great information and help at your local paint/stain store about what finish/stain to use, necessary prep, etc.

• arik12345
    Original Author
    8 years ago
    Thanks. What do you think a professional refinishing would cost?
  • arik12345
    Original Author
    8 years ago
    Because my kitchen is old and well probably renovate in the next few years, figured I would do it myself :). For fun.
  • PRO
    A.C.T. Builders, LLC.
    8 years ago

Cost can vary quite a bit depending on a lot of different things. Some places will give you a free quote if you look around for pros in your area, that would probably be the best way to get a good idea of cost. And like I said, you could absolutely do it yourself, just know that this will be a big project. Good luck!

• arik12345
    Original Author
    8 years ago
    One more thing-although it looks beautiful in the full pic closer examination shows that this is not a superlative piece of workmanship. I think one of the original owners of my 1920s home Built it. It has stuck on moldings and the finish is not very smooth. The stain is uneven. So maybe painting is the right way to go.
  • User
    8 years ago
    last modified: 8 years ago