Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dustin_mills83

Money Tree for Dummies

Dustin Mills
8 years ago

So...I'm a newbie to plants and trees. I don't understand gardening vocabulary so I need to be spoken to like a child and pictures are great! :)

I just bought a money tree and I really like it!

I want it to grow larger. I've got the re-potting thing down (except how to know if the tree has outgrown its current pot), but I need to understand pruning techniques and braiding...

The tree now has 5 trunks braided, but the main braided trunks have been cut and there are many offshoots, producing the leafy top. Question is this: if the previously braided trunks are already cut, how am I supposed to keep braiding it without it looking funky!? If I shouldn't keep braiding it, then do I just keep it this size and trim all the top off-shoots or what?

Next, for pruning/trimming. How do I do that to keep it growing bigger and healthy?

Attached are some photos.

It looks like the main stems have already grown a bit un-braided. Can I braid these parts?

I've searched for photos of money trees online, but they all look either non-braided from the beginning or similar to what mine looks like now. What should this look like 5 years down the line?

I appreciate anyone's help! It's frustrating how much info there is on the money tree, but how little quality & detailed info I've been able to find and am hoping someone can help!

Comments (7)

• christine 5b
    8 years ago

You've come to the right place, I'm sure Al will come along and give you great advice.. Welcome to the forums !!!!

• MsGreenFinger GW
    8 years ago

Hi Dustin,welcome to GW!

As you can see, the main trunks that are braided were cut back and its the shoots that are growing. This is how these plants are sold generally. The cut ends won't ever grow again. So you can braid them but there will be a 'funky' part. If you want one braided all along, you have to do it yourself, growing and braiding from cuttings.